Sunday, January 30, 2011

Screen Actors Guild Award

Well this is my first stab at being a celebrity blogger/gossiper describing the Screen Actors Guild Award (SAG).  I have never watched the SAGS and thought this could be my trial run before the Academy Awards. 

My favorite part of an awards show is FASHION.  I love seeing what everyone wears and dream that some day that I might have a gown like that to wear to a special occasion.  So I feel that part of this post should be dedicated to the fashion. 

Fashion:
So I am watching Live from the Red Carpet on E! for the SAG awards to get the best and worst of fashion. 

Giuliana Rancic is wearing a white gown by Emma Sebel that is not so fabulous.  She looks a bit heavy which she NEVER is!  To be the gown is a no no.  It is kind of Grecian and flowy.  The best part of the outfit was her shoes (Jimmy Choo) but you can’t see the shoes so I am not sure she is a hit. 

OMG! Hailee Steinfeld is wearing a HORRIBLE prada dress.  It is a striped dress that is orange, pink, and black.  I know that she is 15 but she looks like she is out for a Halloween party.  It is not attractive maybe she can save it and wear it trick-or-treating. 

Chord Overstreet from Glee is in a classic Armani black tux with a black tie.  He looks pretty good, although his hair is sort of Justin Bieber, which I am not a fan of.  I love Glee but I don’t love him like I love the original cast.  I guess I need to get use to the new cast sine eventually there will be no more Rachel Berry and Fin Hudson, etc. 

Jesse Tyler Ferguson from Modern Family is in a Black Tux but has a red and black tie.  It sort of matches his red hair so its strange, but he is funny so I’ll let him go with it. 

Jesse Eisenberg is in a black Dolce & Gabana tux.  All of the guys look the same so I am not too excited about discussing their fashion.  I wish E! would talk to the ladies!!

Sarah Hyland from Modern Family looks very cute in a red dress.  I have no details on the dress because Giuliana is discussing her bf and how they met, etc.  The interview was tot awkward.

Julianna Margulies is wearing long red ground that is beautiful.  Her hair however is pretty plain in a ponytail with very little curl.  I have never watched The Good Wife, but I did like her in ER when she dated the young George Clooney.

Chris Coffer aka KURT!  I absolutely love him!!!  I hope he wins tonight.  His speech for the Golden Gloves was great!  He is wearing a black Dior tux. 

Jane Krakowski from 30 Rock is looking like she is going to pop!  She looks very lovely. 

LL Cool J from NCIS Las Angeles is in Giorgio Armani all back plus a black hat. 

Krya Sedgwick looks amazing in a black dress.  The dress has a heart shape neckline.  I absolutely love her and even though Kevin Bacon really freaks me out.  I feel like I have to like him since he is married to her. 

Angie Harmon is in a pink dress that makes her look like a pink ostrich.  She has FEATHERS everywhere!!!!  I think she will be making a worst dress list but that’s me. 

Jenna Ushkowitz from Glee is in a tan/beige dress.  It looks a little too snug for her, has wrinkles, and really washes her out.  I love Tina I mean Jenna but do not love that dress.

Mila Kunis from Black Swan is in a red strapless gown that is Alexandra McQueen.  I like the dress.  She looks very pretty.  I wonder how she is taking the Macaulay Culkin break up especially if he is really dating a Spanish porn star. 

Jennifer Lawrence from Winter Bones is in an oscar de la renta hot pink dress with a black belt.  The belt looks like it cuts her off a bit.  The top of the gown is very different, but beautiful.

Diana Agron from Glee is in a Channel black lace gown.  It is a shorter hemline dress but she looks beautiful.

Tracy Morgan is on the red carpet.  He looks really good after having his kidney transplant.  I am impressed that he is on the red carpet.  He just did a shout out to Sarah Palin.  He said that she was the hottest MILF in the World.  I am kind of confused by the shout out!

Julie Bowen from Modern Family is in a black pants suit.  It looks a little strange/different for the red carpet. I like the risk, but have a feeling most people will say she is not dressed appropriately.

Naya Rivera from Glee is wearing a gold dress.  It is quite plunging in the chest region.  But she looks good. 

Sofia Vergara from Modern Family is in a gorgeous blue dress.  She is super fit and super hot!  Its plunging in the chest line but she looks good.  She is discussing how she would love to walk around w/o a bra but can’t.  I thought that was definitely a little much TMI!

Jayma Mays from Glee is in a coral dress.  It looks better from Golden Globes outfit, but still not very good.  She needs some help in the fashion department.

Leah Michelle aka Rachel Berry looks like her boob is going to pop out.  I think we are going to have a Janet Jackson moment!!  AHH!

Jane Lynch is in a fancy dress.  It is purple and not very flattering.  I love her!  I think at some point she should wear the tracksuit to an award show!

Woah!  Eva Longoria is in a very revealing dress!  Her hair and make up looked very nice. 

January Jones from Mad Men is in a lace black and gold dress.  It is definitely different from her Golden Globes look.  It is definitely less revealing, but I am on the fence with this dress.

Claire Danes the new voice for latisse is in a Louis Vuitton Dress.  It is an interesting dress.  I really like it!  I have a feeling most people will not like the dress but I like it.   It is green with blacks and also has a black belt.

Natalie Portman from Black Swan is wearing a white gown with some sparkling around the top of the gown.  She is also wearing 2 million dollar tiffany jewelry.  She is looking very preg.  I think she looks pretty good tonight.  I like this dress better than the golden globe red flower dress. 

Hilary Swank from Conviction has her hair down and looks a little less manly.  She is in a beige Versace gown.  She looks really pretty.  Normally I find her to be pretty homely, but I’d say for once she looks good.

Jon Hamm from Mad Men (also a graduate from Mizzou) looks very daper.  He’s pretty handsome.  I haven’t watched Mad Men yet but its on my Netflix list so hopefully I can start watching it after we finish Dexter!

Nicole Kidman is in a black Nina Ricci gown that has black lace and a bow on her butt.  It is not pretty.  I give her an F for Faith her new child!  I do commend her for the new baby but the dress is hideous!

Christian Bale cut his hair!  YAY!!!  I still remember him from Little Women.  I loved him as Teddy.  For years I wanted to name my child (if I ever had one) Theodore, but my mother said he would get beat up! 

Amy Adams from The Fighter is in a white gown with fringe down the front.  She does not look very good.  I am pretty disappointed.  I generally like her dresses but tonight was a mishap.

Julia Stiles from Dexter (the season I have not watched yet) is in a navy and white dress.  She looks pretty much I don’t really like the bottom of the dress.  Had I not seen the white I would have said good job, but now not so much.  I still wonder if she was the reason why Michael C. Hall’s marriage broke up.  She denies the rumors but we shall see.  I must say that the set for Dexter has to be really awkward!  I hope it doesn’t affect the show because right now I am obsessed with Dexter.  We are starting season 3 next week.

Christina Hendricks from Mad Men is in a dress that looks like a robe.  She called it a smoking jacket.  Not attractive.  I like that she plays up the curves but I am not enjoying the dress. 

Helena Bonham Carter’s outfit is a little less wild tonight.  It’s a white and lacey dress, but she appears to have a cape.  She is a crazy lady, but I like that she embraces her craziness.  Seeing her also makes me so excited for the last Harry Potter!  Yay!

Kim Kardashian is on the red carpet.  I am not 100% why she is on the red carpet.  She doesn’t act.  So why did she get invited.  I like her dress other than the bedazzle around the boobs (it looks like my prom dress circa 2001).  I think her make up looks a little bland.  I’m still just really confused as to why she was on the red carpet.

I think next time (if I decide to do this) I will try to include photos of the dresses so you can decide for yourself on the looks.

The Awards Show:

The opening is doing monologues from certain stars.  Its actually rather cute.  Betty White and Alec Baldwin are presenting the first awards.  Betty looks great she also joked that Alec was old, classic.  The first award Actors is Outstanding Performance By a Male Actor in a Drama Series and the nominees are:
Steve Buscemi – Boardwalk Empire
Bryan Cranston – Breaking Bad
Michael C. Hall – Dexter
Jon Hamm – Mad Men
Hugh Laurie – House
Winner:  Steve Buscemi from Boardwalk Empire. 
He won the Golden Globe for his role so I am not surprised.  I have not seen Boardwalk Empire but I am told I should watch it.  Steve Buscemi has always given me the creeps maybe because he was a serial killer in Con Air?  I like this award so far because they don’t cut off your speeches

Annette Bening and Mark Ruffalo are describing The Kids are All Right.  Annette looks wonderful.  Her dress is gorgeous! 

Eva Longoria and Cory Monteith (aka Finn Hudson) are announcing the award for Outstanding Performance By a Female in a Drama Series and the nominees are:
Glenn Close – Damages
Mariska Hargitay – Law & Order: SVU
Julianna Margulies – The Good Wife
Elizabeth Moss – Mad Men
Kyra Sedgwick – The Closer

I think Finn I mean Cory was thrilled that he was announcing with Eva.  She’s been going after young guys lately (since her separation) so maybe Finn will get lucky? 
Winner:  Julianna Margulies from The Good Wife.  She seems shocked that she won this award.  She is really emotional.  Aww she gave a super sweet shout out to her husband by thanking her in-laws for giving her the most amazing man.  Very sweet.  Hilary Swank even mouthed that she was so sweet.

Sofia Vergara and Taye Diggs are describing the Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series and the nominees are:
Boardwalk Empire
The Closer
Dexter
The Good Wife
Mad Men

Taye and Sofia both look very sexy.
Winner:  The Cast of Boardwalk Empire.  Mark Walberg also produced the show, he seemed like he wanted to go on the stage, but stayed on the sidelines. 

Ken Howard, President of the SAG, is welcoming everyone to the show and congratulated all of the nominees.  It’s a bit boring for me, but I know it is necessary.

The guy from The Unit and the Allstate Commercials is describing broadcast advertising and commending the actors of advertising.  I was a really fun segment showing present commercials and commercials from the past.

Jason Bateman is describing Outstanding Performance By a Female Actor in a Supporting Role and the nominees are:
Amy Adams – The Fighter
Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech
Mila Kunis – Black Swan
Melissa Leo – The Fighter
Hailee Steinfeld – True Grit
Winner:  Melissa Leo for The Fighter.  She won the Golden Globe for this performance so again not really surprised.  She also almost fell as she was going on the stage.  She seems completely shocked and so completely grateful that she won.  She got a little political regarding the actors unions coming together. 

Amy Poehler is giving the award for Outstanding Performance By a Male Actor in a Comedy Series and the nominees are:
Alec Baldwin – 30 Rock
Ty Burrell – Modern Family
Steve Carell – The Office
Chris Colfer – Glee
Ed O’Neil – Modern Family

I personally hope Kurt (Chris Colfer) wins because I love him!
Winner:  Alec Baldwin for 30 Rock.  He has been nominated 14 times (holy cow!) he has won 5 years in a row for 30 Rock.  I think it is time for someone else to win, but he is a pretty funny guy. 

Jon Hamm is presenting the award for Outstanding Performance By a Female Actor in a Comedy Series:
Edie Falco – Nurse Jackie
Tina Fey – 30 Rock
Jane Lynch – Glee
Sofia Vergara – Modern Family
Betty White – Hot in Cleveland

He joked that they picked him to announce this since he was the funniest female artist.
Winner:  Betty White for Hot in Cleveland.  I really want to start watching this show because it looks hilarious.  She looks shocked and is getting an escort to the stage.  She also received a standing ovation, which I think if fitting since she is AMAZING!  She looks great.  If I live to be as old as she is I hope I am nearly as funny as she is and look half as good as she does!!  She said it was the biggest surprise over her career to win!  She groped her statute for the award because it is a naked man! LOL!!!  Too funny

Helena Bonham Carter, Colin Ferth, and Geoffrey Rush are describing The King’s Speech.  The movie looks really entertaining.  I think I need to see the movie.

Angie Harmon and LL Cool J are announcing the next award.  I still can’t get over Angie’s outfit she seriously looks like a pink ostrich/feather duster. They are announcing the Outstanding Performance By an Ensemble in a Comedy Series and the nominees are:
30 Rock
Glee
Hot in Cleveland
Modern Family
The Office

I’m a total Gleek so I am rooting for Glee obviously. 
Winner:  The Cast of Modern Family.  I have never watched the show.  I am adding it to Netflix though because I really want to see it. 

Mila Kunis and Natalie Portman are describing Black Swan.  Both ladies look beautiful.  I think Mila is possibly the best dress of the night.  As for Natalie she looks really good and I love those $2 million dollar earrings.

Tim Conway is now on the stage.  He looks like he is going to be funny, but at the same time a bit annoying.  He is giving the lifetime achievement award to Ernest Borgine.  Tim tried to make a joke about Red but it didn’t go over well.  Tim’s jokes are not working well for the crowd or me.  The dedication to Ernest is really interesting because it gives a look at his life and his the films he did.  I feel bad because I do not know anything about Ernest.  I think I have seen a few of these movies/shows but I don’t remember him. 
Morgan Freeman is now on the stage giving Ernest the Lifetime Achievement award.  It appears that Morgan has an earring.  It looks a little weird. 

Ernest looks extremely happy to receive this.  I always get a little sad by these lifetime achievement awards I think I’m a little too sentimental. 

Ernest speech is very moving and very inspiring to all the actors.  Very sweet.

Robin Wright and Jeremy Renner are announcing the award for Outstanding Performance By a Male Actor in a Television Movie or Miniseries and the nominees are:
John Goodman – You Don’t Know Jack
Al Pacino – You Don’t Know Jack
Dennis Quad – The Special Relationship
Edgar Ramirez – Carlos
Patrick Stewart – Macbeth (Great Performances)
Winner:  Al Pacino for You Don’t Know Jack.  I thought he would be the winner.  He was not there for the award.  So no ramblings like at the Golden Globes.

The cast of The Social Network (including JT) describe The Social Network.  I have not seen this movie either.  Personally, I am not really interested in it.  I love facebook but don’t need a movie about it.

Rosario Dawson and Josh Duhamel are now on stage.  Rosario looks really good.  I like her pale yellow gown.  They are announcing the award for Outstanding Performance By a Female Actor in a Television Movie or Miniseries and the nominees are: 
Claire Danes – Temple Grandin
Catherine O’Hara – Temple Grandin
Julia Ormond – Temple Grandin
Winona Ryder – When Love Is Not Enough:  The Lois Wilson Story
Susan Sarandon - You Don’t Know Jack
Ugh Susan Sarandon is with her very young boyfriend.  I am a little disgusted by her relationship.  Seriously, she could be this guys MOM!
Winner:  Claire Danes for Temple Grandin.  Claire Danes looks beautiful.  She won the Golden Globe for this category so I am not really surprised.  It looks like the role was really difficult.  Bravo!  On a different note, her eyelashes look really long.  Good job lattisse.

Hillary Swank definitely looks better than she has in the past, although her arms kind of scare me.  She is doing the memorial piece on those who have past away this year.  This part always upsets me too.  We lost a lot of good actors this year.

Now Susan Sarandon is on the stage.  She looks really good, but I’m still rather disturbed by her young young bf.  She is announcing the award for Outstanding Performance By a Male Actor in a Supporting Role and the nominees are:
Christian Bale – The Fighter
John Hawkes – Winter’s Bone
Jeremy Renner – The Town
Mark Ruffalo – The Kids Are All Right
Geoffrey Rush – The King’s Speech

I’m pretty sure Christian Bale is going to win this. 
Winner:  Christian Bale for The Fighter.  I need to see The Fighter as well.  I have been really bad with these movies.  Maybe I can do matinees before the Academy Awards.  I am really glad that he cut his hair now if only this beard can go away. 

Amy Adams and Mark Wahlberg are announcing The Fighter. 

Jeff Bridges is now on stage.  I am glad to see he is nominated this evening and nominated for the Academy Awards since he was left out for the Golden Globes.  He is announcing the award for Outstanding Performance By a Female Actor in a Leading Role and the nominees are:
Annette Bening -  The Kinds Are All right
Nicole Kidman – Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence – Winter’s Bone
Natalie Portman – Black Swan
Hilary Swank – Conviction

We all know Natalie is going to win.  This is apparently her year. 
Winner:  Natalie Portman for Black Swan.  Shocking…NOT!  Her speech this time was much better than last.  I am really glad that she didn’t thank her parents and her fiancĂ© for keeping the line of children going…

Nicole Kidman’s dress is sooooo bizarre tonight.  She is giving the award for Outstanding Performance By a Male Actor in a Leading Role and the nominees are:
Jeff Bridges – True Grit
Robert Duvall – Get Low
Jesse Eisenberg – The Social Network
Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
James Franco – 127 Hours

I think Colin Firth will win this, but Jeff Bridges was not nominated for a Golden Globe so I could be wrong. 
Winner:  Colin Firth for The King’s Speech.  James Franco looked really pissed that he was not the winner.  Colin is joking that his SAG card would get him female attention (pretty funny).  I still remember him in Bridget Jones Diary.  He definitely has come far from there (even though I love me some BJD). 

Donald Sutherland is giving the awards for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture and the nominees are:
Black Swan
The Fighter
The Kids Are All Right
The King’s Speech
The Social Network

I have a feeling The Social Network is going to win. 
Winner:  The King’s Speech.  I am shocked but so happy.  I am glad this movie won over a movie about Facebook.  Like I said before, I love me some facebook, but I wanted a different sort of movie and I think The King’s Speech does just that.  I have decided I am definitely going to see this movie probably this week. 

This concludes the SAG.  I think I have a few things to work on regarding award show blogging but for my first one ever I know I can get better!

Saturday, January 29, 2011

A Step in the Right Direction

Last night my husband and I discussed the types of jobs I thought I might like doing.  Personally I think I'd like to be a celebrity blogger sort of like Perez Hilton, but I don't think I could really make a living doing that sort of job.  However, if anyone has suggestions how to become the next Perez Hilton please let me know!  I do plan on writing some celebrity blogs in the future (my first will be this weekend as a recap to the Screen Actors Guild Awards). 

So what should my career be?  What do I like?  Well I like baking, photography, and college basketball.  But I don't think I can become a baker or a photographer professionally.  I do make a mean chocolate chip cookie but I don't think it is enough to make money.  As for college basketball, I played basketball in high school and was TERRIBLE.  I think when I decided not to play my senior year of high school my coach was actually glad because he didn't have to deal with me.  Secondly, I really don't enjoy woman's college basketball.  I know UCONN women are amazing and all and think they could probably beat some men's college basketball teams, but its just not for me.  So unless I can grow one I think college basketball is out.  So what do I think I'd like to do, what would make me happy?  I have a few thoughts and plan on exploring these. 

The first thought is a real estate agent.  I can make decent money doing this and actually think I'd be good at it.  I found our house prior to our real estate agent finding it by looking at the MLS listings, craigslist, and zillow.  I am also familiar with real estate law because of undergrad (I took a real estate law class and two real estate finance classes), law school, and my work with my old firm.  So I think it is definitely an option.  I took a step in learning more about becoming a real estate agent by researching the info online as well as sending our old realtor an email with the pros and cons of the profession.  Hopefully she gives me some insight and I’ll go from there.

The second option is a career counselor at a college or even good ol’ flo co.  It seems odd that I think I would be a good career counselor when I can’t figure out what I want as my own career but I am good at drafting resumes, cover letters, and interviews.  I actually love interviews.  Maybe I can be a professional interviewer??  I guess that’s probably out as well. 

I always have my accounting degree that I could fall back on but ugh.  I never wanted to be an accountant because it was my back up plan if I didn’t go to law school, but since I don’t want to be an attorney now maybe I should consider it . . .

I know I need to find a job to deal with my loans, but for now I am enjoying my time exploring.  I am thankful that I have a husband that just wants me to be happy and that I have the opportunity to explore my options.

So for now I will do some celebrity gossiping and likely become a real estate agent. 

Friday, January 28, 2011

A New Day

For the past few weeks I have had a lot of stress.  Stress that I was not sure how to fix.  Stress that kept building up and finally today I lost it.  I had stress over all the what ifs in life and what I plan on doing with myself - What if I didn't pass the bar exam, what if I can't find a job, what if I didn't want to be an attorney and what would I do now . . . WHAT IF, WHAT IF, WHAT If!

Thankfully, I have the most amazing best friend in the world, my husband, and this morning he sat down with me and talked me through everything.  He told me that I could do whatever I wanted and that no matter what we would get by.  He told me that I should postpone the bar exam (if that’s what I wanted to do) and that if I never wanted to take it that was fine by him.  He told me to find what would make me happy and if that took a while not to worry about it.  He suggested I read on the beach, blog about fashion, or just do nothing!   Talking to Jeff made the stress melt away.

So I have decided to postpone the bar exam.  I may take it in July or I may never take it.  I know some people will say what a waste of my degree.  But I know that I can’t be miserable and right now practicing law made me miserable.  I want a job that I wake up feeling excited about going to.  I’m not sure what that job may be, but I plan on exploring it.  Based upon my husband’s advice, I am going to blog my journey on finding what I want to do in life.  I am not sure what the future holds or what I will decide to do but I hope my blog is entertaining.