Monday, February 7, 2011

Super Bowl Recap

I have always been the girl that watches the Super Bowl.  I watch the Super Bowl not for the actual football game, but for the commercials.  However, this year was different.  I was actually looking forward to the Super Bowl for the game.  I have been rooting for the Greenbay Packers ever since Farve retired and then returned and then retired and then returned and so on and so forth.  I felt that Aaron Rodgers always got the short end of the stick being compared to Brett Farve.  I understand Farve had ridiculous numbers and a great career, but I also feel his drama over retiring not to mention the text messages really put a damper on his career.  Let’s not forget he only won one ring his entire career so I wanted Aaron Rodgers to get a ring and put all of the Farve drama behind him.  So for once I was really excited about the Super Bowl.  It also helped that the Packers were playing the Steelers.  In the past I had no issue with the Steelers but after this summer and Big Ben’s behavior I was finished with them.  He is one of my least favorite people in the pro sports community.  He is right up there with Tiger Woods and A-Rod.  I dislike them all so much.

Anyway, the game was actually really exciting and the Packers won 31-25!  Yay!  The game came down to the last drive of the game so it made it very entertaining and Rodgers won the Super Bowl MVP (something Farve never did).  So hopefully Rodgers can come out of the shadows of Farve and Farve stays retired once and for all.  But I am sure come summer Rachel Nichols from ESPN will be camped out in front of his house waiting to see if he is coming back…lets up he doesn’t.

Although I have discussed the outcome of the game, I have to talk about the pregame, halftime as well as the commercials, because lets be honest 99% of people watch the game for the commercials.

The pregame started with Lea Michele of Glee singing America the Beautiful.  She did an amazing job.  She sounded great.  My only issue with Lea is that she wore a coat that looked a little too big for her.  She is a tiny tiny girl and the coat made her look like she was drowning.  But again she was great.  Good job Lea!  Then Christina Aguilera sang the Star Spangled Banner.  Let’s just say WOW!  What a mess up!!  First Xtina looked terrible.  Her platinum blond hair was a mess and her outfit looked matronly but not in a good way.  Then she started singing.  Well her rendition was typical Xtina with her belting every note making the song longer than it was supposed to be, but then the real problem happened.  Although Xtina has been singing the anthem since she was 7 (her words not mine) she forgot the lyrics to the song.  She sang, "What so proudly we watched at the twilights last gleaming” instead of "O'er the ramparts we watched, were so gallantly streaming?"  As she was singing my husband and I looked at each other and said did she really mess this up?  I thought no she couldn’t have but the more I thought about it the more I knew she did.  Holy Crap!  I know some people are taking up for her saying at least she sang live, but come on really she MESSED UP THE WORDS TO OUR NATIONAL ANTHEM!  I felt disgraced by this.  What made her singing even more classic was the look on some of the players and coaches’ faces when it happened -most looked really confused.  Within seconds of her mess up the internet erupted with reports of the mistake.  It looks like Xtina is making history, but not in a good way.  After her last album failed, Burlesque failed, and now this maybe Xtina should give it up for a little while and get her life back together.  But maybe she thought these were the right lyrics since Wikipedia has the words she sang as the correct lyrics to the song.  Oh boy!

As for the halftime show, a lot of people were upset with the BEP.  I personally didn’t hate the show.  Yes, their vocals and microphone issues were bad.  But I thought the special effects were amazing.  I liked the lights on the dancers, the box heads, the different way the stage moved, and I liked the surprises.  Who would have thought Slash would be playing with Fergie and who knew Usher was going to drop from the ceiling? Last year The Who played and their vocals were TERRIBLE and they were boring old men who didn’t move across the stage.  Although BEP didn’t sound great I was entertained and isn’t that what a halftime show is suppose to do?

Some of the commercials this year were mediocre but I thought there were a few standouts.  My personal favorite was the Audi Luxury car commercial.  The commercial started with people of luxury locked in cages in an extravagant home and two guys trying to escape luxury.  I thought the commercial was really clever.  If you missed it here’s a link to the commercial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xKeKj0Lckzk

My next favorite was the Chrysler Eminem Imported from Detroit commercial.  Although this commercial was not funny it was shot amazingly and was just a really cool commercial.  Check it out for yourself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKL254Y_jtc

Snickers was also pretty good since Roseanne Barr got smacked with a log when she needed a snickers. 

However, I think some businesses missed the mark on their commercials this year.  I felt like Bud Light and Budwiser missed the mark.  Bud Light has the extreme home makeover commercial where nothing changed but they added Bud Light and they also had the dog watcher where the dogs could do anything including wait on people and wash dishes.  Although they were both cute I didn’t think they were worth the money.  I am use to Budwiser showing the horses they are known for their horses, but what do they do.  They show them at the beginning of the commercial and then have a mean cowboy break into Tiny Dancer once he gets his Budwiser.  I just wasn’t pleased with these commercials.

I thought Doritos did a fairly good job. The pug dog jumping through the door to get the Doritos was cute and Doritos bringing everything back to life including the guys Grandpa was great.  But Doritos then creeped me out when the guy sucked on the other guy’s fingers.  It made me not want to eat the chips. 

The E Trade Commercials were also not a good as last year.  Personally I don’t think anything will top Lindsey the Milkawhat baby, but that’s my opinion.

Although the final commercial using the Glee cast did not show until Glee started the commercial was great.  It was super over the top and Sue was her evil self, but what made the commercial was when they decided not to do the commercial so they wouldn’t lose their amateur status and Brittany says “I was gonna donate my Chevy Cruz to Charity. Charity’s my cat, she totaled my SUV last weekend.” 

All and all I thought the Super Bowl was successful.  My team won, Lea Michele did a great job, there were some good commercials, and most importantly Glee returned!

No comments:

Post a Comment